Pipilotti Rist in Hayward Gallery

Pipilotti Rist / Eyeball Massage

Pipilotti Rist is a visual artist and film director from Switzerland. She is famous for the intense colours of her work, the speed of distortion and visual impact. As critics said, she has radically changed the way we look at and experience moving images.

“When I close my eyes, my imagination roams free. In the same way I want to create spaces for video art that rethink the very nature of the medium itself. I want to discover new ways of configuring the world, both the world outside and the world within.”          – Pipilotti Rist

When I entered the exhibition in the Hayward gallery, I overwhelmed by diverse moving images showing over the wall and floor. I think she intended to change the way of viewing of audiences.

When we see a work of contemporary arts, sometimes various scenes and images can be separated from its own context. Then, it might generate quite different feedback from audiences. I believe, that is why many people have increasingly riveted on contemporary arts, as we can see more in-depth of our mundane life.

1 comment
  1. YUN JUNG KIM said:

    I visited this exhibition thanks to your good information. It is really fantastic and amazing. In here, I got surprise inspiration about my art work by her gorgeous colour.

Leave a comment